Title

¿Estás seguro?

Foro Agility - Contact Trouble (14)

Agility - Contact Trouble (14)

El debate está cerrado
| Hace 9 años
editado por

I have been doing agility with my first dog for about 6 years now, and my 2nd for a year and a half. When my 2nd dog started, he had really good contacts, but as he has gotten more confident, he has gotten cocky and jumps off them without touching. He does them fine at training, but as soon as I get in the ring, it´s a different story. We do the 2 on 2 off method. Any ideas on how to beat this little trick of his?

| Hace 9 años
editado por

well do you let him get away with it at shows??? If so don´t! Do you let off any vibes like your worried about the contacts?? If so he´ll pick them up and be a naughty! just like horses!
you could try the four on the floor method! and put a marker down bottom or make sure you proof your contacts for two on two off try throwing the toy...or say touch and leave him there!

hehehe
hi celina
I learn from the best

Val 
| Hace 9 años
editado por

Firstly never blame your dog for anything that goes wrong in the ring...You are probably behaving differently, you´re more anxious and the adrenaline is flowing big time. Shows and training are two different ´animals´ no matter what part of the world you compete in. It would really help if you could explain a bit about how you are training now. Do you train on your own without an instructor supervising you from time to time? Do you target the contacts?

| Hace 9 años
editado por

I have done targeting but as soon as the target is gone (I use a small square of clear plastic) He doesn´t do it properly. I have proofed them, and as I say, he does them at training.

I train at a club with an instructor and other people and dogs, and I do not let him get away with it in training or shows, hence why we haven´t had a clear round in ages, because I´m always putting him back on the contacts.

| Hace 9 años
editado por